Having your kids eat healthy

I did intend to try to feed my kids healthy food for as long as I possibly could. It really did start off that way-Steamed organic food with no salt but eventually they will eat at someone else’s house or you have to take them to a restaurant and they’ll realize you’ve been cheating them. Also, being a busy mom you are eventually gonna have to figure out how to maneuver your mini van through a drive through and you can only be the freak at McDonald s asking for fries with no salt for so long. (Sidenote to McDonalds–dont ever replace my kids regular scheduled french Fries with a yogurt and a french fry pack that holds 3 fries again!!! A. that requires a spoon and allows for possible spillage while driving. B. You just caused a 3 year Old to lose his shit and C. if i wanted my Kids to eat healthy that day i wouldn’t be fucking going to McDonalds)
Anyway, i have to say, I’m still pretty good. I don’t let my kids eat candy before bed or all day long for that matter. My 6 year old has never had pop or gum. There are some things that are not necessary for them to even try but I don’t remember any cool kids bringing cucumbers with hummus to school. It may be impressive to parents but the cool kid is the one who shows up to school with money to buy French fries.
So, the reason I decided to blog about this was to share a true story. My sister is a vegapescatorian or whatever the hell she calls herself this month. She came over today with her 2 healthy kids who will literally choose cucumbers over French fries when they are both on my table in front of them. I’m jealous. I really am. I wish I had that discipline but I don’t know if I could risk my kids missing out on fun things kids eat. So my nephew asks me for “unhealthy cereal”. Thats what he called it. Of course I have lucky charms that Nonna so graciously introduced my kids to. So he takes the lucky charms, puts them in a bowl and opens my fridge. He looks at me and says, “you have no almond milk!?!?” “No, I don’t.” I had to explain to him that majority of people don’t have that in their fridge. I felt bad but kinda offended in a way as if I was the weird one. Then to my amazement and slight glee he asked for the chocolate syrup to put in his milk that my husband so kindly introduced to my children. One of the unnecessaries in a household but its there now so have some. Of course he didnt know what it was called. He pours the cereal in his bowl, no milk yet, grabs the syrup and asks me how he’s supposed to do it. I couldn’t believe my ears. This is a 10 year old who doesn’t know what to do with chocolate syrup. I can think of 10 things to do with chocolate syrup!! I looked at my sister and said,”seriously!?” I’m sure she was a proud mom but i was dazed and confused. I felt bad for the kid. I personally think i would rather my kid know what to do with chocolate syrup –
for many reasons. Lmao!! Maybe I should babysit him more often and FaceTime my sister while he has a peanut butter Nutella sandwich with Cheerios in the middle while drinking cows chocolate milk!!! Hahaha. I’m the devil. I know.

Leave a Reply

